Subway Applewood Pulled Pork Sandwich

Pulled pork is one of those things I got into recently. And by recently, I mean five years ago (yeah, I need to get more adventurous). When I had it for the first time, I liked it immediately. I don’t know why I was avoiding it for so long. It’s just one of those annoying things about having food aversion issues. It’s messy though. Super messy. I’m not big on messy food, but if it’s good, I can deal with it.

I’ve yet to have a really bad pulled pork sandwich. The worst one I can think off was at a local restaurant where the sauce was too sweet for my tastes. So, Subway can’t mess up their Applewood Pulled Pork sandwich, right?

Normally at Subway, I get either grilled chicken or turkey, topped with lettuce, onion, cucumbers, and occasionally a little bit of sub sauce. I used to get the parmesan oregano bread, but they’ve phased it out. For the pulled pork sandwich though, I decided to get just the meat and BBQ sauce on Italian herb and cheese bread. I debated on getting onions, but I decided against it.

DSC_0888.jpg
The presentation could’ve been a bit better

You might notice the same problem I did. The meat-to-bread ratio was worrying. The first bite confirmed that. Subway’s bread just didn’t work with this. Maybe with the flatbread it would have been better. It’s a shame too, because the meat and sauce wasn’t bad. It may not have looked the best, but it tasted pretty good.

I’d be willing to get this one again, at the very least to at least see if the flatbread works better. Plus, it adds a bit of variety to the usual poultry sandwiches I get.

7/10

Leave a comment