McDonald’s Potato Rosti Burger and Waffle Fries

Christmas is around the corner and McDonald’s has decided to make a few new holiday items. This time, I’ll be looking at their new Potato Rosti Burger and Waffle Fries.

…Are these really Christmas-y? Are Rosti a traditional Christmas dish somewhere? Or maybe they just wanted an excuse to come out with a new sandwich so saps like me will order it.

20161129_110943.jpg

Okay, let’s start w- no wait. Is that what I think it is?

20161129_110957.jpg

Yes. Their potato rosti was just a hash brown. I like hash browns, but it’s disappointing to expect something new and it’s just an old staple. I can understand why they did that. Why make something new when you already have something you can use and say that it’s new?

Anyway, before getting to the burger, I took a taste of the fries. And I was immediately disappointed. They’re crispier than their regular fries and have less sodium. And don’t taste as good. I’m not sure if it’s the additional surface area, or the longer cook time (at least it feels that way), but there’s a noticeable taste difference. Not going to get these ever again. They weren’t bad, but I’m not paying extra for a product that tastes worse.

Now it was time for the burger. The first bite was okay, but it was almost all beef. When I had opened it up, I noticed there was barely any sauce on it, so I wasn’t surprised. The next couple bites I got more of the other elements. I can see why the cheese sauce was used sparingly because it’s a very strong parmesan cheese sauce. Too bad the hash brown couldn’t stick out. I got none of its flavour and it just felt like mushy filler. And because the hash brown wasn’t strong, the onions didn’t work as well as they could.

This was an interesting idea, but it fell flat. It wasn’t terrible, just very unremarkable. And stay away from those waffle fries.

5/10 for both.

Leave a comment