Harvey’s Pizza Burger

I haven’t done any Harvey’s reviews on this blog yet. I don’t really see them coming out with many “new” products (or maybe I haven’t really paid much attention). Their selling point is the fact that you can build your hamburger your way, so it’s hard to imagine what they could have that’s new besides new topping choices. But they managed to do it. They came out with a Pizza Burger.

This wouldn’t be the first time I’ve had a pizza burger. Boston Pizza released one a few years ago. The execution is slightly different. Harvey’s uses a regular burger bun, whereas Boston Pizza’s has a pizza pocket style cover. In my opinion, Boston Pizza’s burger was very mediocre, mainly because I’m not a fan of their burgers. Harvey’s, on the other hand, is…well, they’re a bit better. I’ve never been a huge fan, but their Angus burgers are alright.

So I went ahead and order their Pizza Burger with an Angus Patty.

20161022_130121.jpg

It’s got cheese, pizza sauce, and pepperoni. Your standard pizza toppings. It was incredibly messy. First bite worked out pretty well. But the more I ate, the less I enjoyed it. The outer part of the pepperoni was nice and crisp, but in the middle, it was soft. I tend to like my pepperoni well cooked. The cheese was bland. The sauce was okay, but it didn’t work well with the beef.

They tried, but I’ve still yet to have a really good pizza burger. Now I’m wondering if I could make one myself. That could be a fun experiment to try for a future post. But as far as this burger goes, I’d say pass unless you’re really curious. It’s better than the Boston Pizza version at least, but that’s not saying much.

5.5/10

Leave a comment