A&W Mushroom Mozza Burger

One of the things I wanted to do when I started this blog was to encourage myself to try new things. So far, I’ve tried tomatoes and blue cheese. Neither has been very successful. I guess there’s been some new sauces I’ve tried, so at least there’s that. But I think it’s time I give something else new a chance. This time, I’m going with mushrooms.

Mushrooms are one of those things I see everyone else love, but I always choke up when it’s time for me to give them a try. I once left mushrooms on a slice of pizza I got and it was rather non-present. I couldn’t taste the mushrooms at all. I probably need better mushrooms to try.

It just so happens that A&W has a new burger out right now, the Mushroom Mozza Burger. Instead of bacon, lettuce, tomato, and Mozza sauce, the Mushroom Mozza has grilled onions, Dijon aioli, and obviously, cremini mushrooms. The grilled onions were a concern, but A&W was the one place where the grilled onions were okay. Their delicious Smokey BBQ Teen Burger had that and Dijon aioli, so if the mushrooms are good, this burger should be great.

20161117_112351.jpg

Wow, they kinda made this one a bit messy. And where were the mushrooms?

20161117_112418.jpg
…Not looking appetizing to be honest…

Oh, they were just piled them up there. Okay sure. I took a fork and spread them across more evenly and then took a bite. Nope. I couldn’t get into. The mushrooms had a really “earthy” taste. Or maybe it was the Dijon Aioli? I doubt it though since I had it once before and didn’t notice that taste. Still, I powered through.

Well, I did for a bit. Halfway through the mushrooms were getting to me. I had to stop and take off the mushrooms. I still tasted that earthiness though. It didn’t stop me from eating the entire thing, but I did feel a bit queasy after. Not blaming A&W for that, but that’s just me having trouble with new foods.

It might be a bit unfair, but this one is being brought down a lot by the fact that I just can’t handle mushrooms. Maybe someday I’ll get better, but for now, I’m not touching this one again. I’d be interested in hearing a review of this burger from someone who likes mushrooms.

3.5/10

 

Leave a comment