McDonald’s Summer Country Chicken Sandwich

After last week’s onion disaster (okay, that’s a bit of an exaggeration), I was hoping for better things with the Ontario Summer Country Chicken Sandwich. I like most of McDonald’s chicken sandwiches, so I was feeling good about this one going into it.

I went to the self-serve kiosk and placed my order. Then came the point to make my changes to the sandwich. This time, it was to take off the tomato slice (leaving on the cheese again today). That’s when I noticed something terrifying on the screen. …Tomato and herb sauce…

I have a weird relationship with tomatoes. I’m okay with tomato sauce on pizza and pasta, but I dislike chunks of tomatoes in them. I can stomach ketchup if I absolutely have too, but I’d rather not have it at all. But tomatoes seem like one of those things I can grow to enjoy, like pickles and (not grilled) onions. Plus, since tomatoes seem to be everywhere, it would be useful to learn to appreciate them. So, despite my reservations, I decided to stay on track and order the sandwich (removing the sauce would be removing the purpose).

DSC_0920.jpg

I thought the BBQ burger was messy. This one had sauce oozing out of the back. And boy does that sauce have a strong scent.

No sense waiting around. I took a bite and I can tell you, that sauce tasted as strong as it smelled. I then realized what was causing the odour and strong flavour. It was definitely Parmesan (I double checked this later to confirm my suspicion). I don’t have anything against Parmesan, but it was drowning out the other cheese on the sandwich. It was to the point where it seemed pointless for that slice of cheese to even be there.

Unlike the western burger, the flavours complemented each other better. Yes, the sauce was strong, but I still got plenty of the chicken to go along with it. It was like eating a cheap chicken parmesan, and there’s where it falls flat. It didn’t blow me away, and it just makes me want a better sandwich. There’s already a better chicken sandwich on the McDonald’s menu, the 12. So while this one was better than the Western BBQ burger, I won’t be revisiting this one in July either.

Next week is the Quebec Delectable Bacon & Cheese Burger. Maybe it can save this taste adventure from mediocrity.

6.5/10

Leave a comment