Taco Bell Quesalupa

Taco Bell is one of those oddball restaurants for me. As a picky eater, it should be gross. I mean, they don’t score very well on presentation, especially compared to a “normal” taco. And along with the fact that I don’t like cheap cheddar cheese, you’d thing I’d avoid the place like Christmas leftovers in January.

But no, Taco Bell us one of my go-to spots. I can eat a lot of tacos from there without feeling sick at all. I joke with my friends that I could eat an entire party pack if I were so inclined.

Honestly, it makes no damn sense, but I’m glad because one of my favourite perks about Taco Bell is that it’s cheap. I can fill up on a couple tacos for lunch and I’m satiated for the rest of the work day. At under $3, you really can’t beat that.

Given that fact, I rarely order anything other than tacos there. Nothing really there grabs me and makes me feel like spending more. Well, the fact I’m not very adventurous doesn’t help. Either way, the premium items need to really impress if they want to coax me out of a couple extra dollars.

Now that I’m trying to branch out a bit more and writing reviews, I have a reason to give it a chance. I got even more of a push when I happened across a couple for a free Quesalupa with the purchase of a combo. I heard a bit about the Quesalupa, Taco Bell’s recent creation, a combination of a quesadilla and a chalupa. Basically, there’s pepper jack cheese baked into the chalupa shell. It sounded interesting enough to give it a shot.

The combo I ordered had to be at least a certain value, so no cheap two taco combo for this one. I went with the quesadilla combo. Maybe a bit redundant, but out of my options, it was the one I wanted to most.

DSC_0891.jpg

It’s been years since I last had a quesadilla from Taco Bell. It was good, but still not good enough to be ordering over the regular tacos in my opinion.

Once that was out of the way, it was time for the main attraction. Like usual, I made a slight modification: No sour cream. Maybe one of these days I’ll be okay with it, but not today. BUT I left on the tomatoes. I said in my last review that tomatoes seem like one of those things I can eventually start to like. This was a chance for me to give it a shot.

DSC_0893.jpg

…Okay, but maybe not that many tomatoes.

DSC_0894.jpg
Much better!

Yeah yeah, there’s not much on there now, but I’m taking small, manageable steps. If I left too many on there, it’d distract me from everything else and I’d start getting anxious for no good reason. But I did taste them in the bites where they were present. It wasn’t terrible, but I definitely need more work with them. I’m just glad I didn’t leave all of them all or that would’ve been a disaster.

As for the Quesalupa itself, well…it wasn’t nearly as cheesy I thought it would have been. The cheese was thick, not gooey. In a way, it felt like the shell was a thick dough instead of being stuff with cheese.

DSC_0896.jpg
…I’m pretty sure there’s cheese…

You can kinda see it there. I think it needed more.

About three-quarters of the way in, the heaviness started to hit me. Having this and the combo together might not have been the best idea. I’m beginning to think that maybe that party pack isn’t as doable as I thought. It didn’t bog me down enough to not finish, but I felt pretty stuffed afterwards.

Overall, it was alright, but for the price that it is normally, I could get three tacos. And this Quesalupa was not better than three tacos. I’d consider getting it again if I had a coupon for it, but I won’t be paying full price for another one.

6/10

 

Leave a comment