Uno Chicago Grill Pizza

I apologize for the lack of updates last week. I took a brief vacation down to the US last week and a lot of my meals were home cooked. The internet wasn’t the best, so it was difficult to post. I was in Deep Creek, Maryland with a brief stop in Pittsburgh (I didn’t pay for it. I don’t make nearly enough money for that). I did eat out a couple times, so I’ll be posting a few non-Toronto food reviews.

The first place of note was Uno Chicago Grill. We went here last year and I had my first Chicago style deep dish pizza. It exceeded my expectations, but I also substituted the chunky tomato sauce with marinara sauce. I’m not a fan of chunks of tomato on my pizza.

I did the same again this time. I also had it topped with chicken, bacon, and pepperoni. Can’t go wrong with meat on a pizza.

DSC_1070.jpg

It’s buried under there, but I promise it’s all there. And they loaded this thing with meat. I was surprised it held together when I took out a slice.

It was as good as I remembered it being. The crust was stable, but not too hard, so it was a nice chewy bite. The toppings were good quality and cook well. I especially liked the chicken. The overall pizza wasn’t overly greasy, but it still had all the flavour. My only issue was with the bacon. They used good bacon, but it was a bit too fatty and chewy for my tastes. Some people might like that though.

To wash it all down, I got the chocolate monkey. Like it sounds, it’s a frozen chocolate banana drink made with frozen yogurt.

DSC_1067.jpg

Whoops! I forgot to ask for no whip cream. It doesn’t take away much, and it was still delicious. The banana flavour came through and the yogurt added a bit of tartness. They nailed this one.

In the off chance you find yourself in Deep Creek, I’d recommend checking out Uno. Everyone else with me also enjoyed their meals, so their menu has a lot of solid options. I know I’ll come back if I’m ever in Deep Creek again.

8.5/10

Leave a comment