A&W Spicy Habanero Chicken Burger

One type of food I like is spicy food, as long as the it’s a flavour I like and it’s not overbearing (I will try crazy over-the-top spicy challenges every so often though). I’ve been interested in A&W’s Spicy Habanero Chicken Burger for a while now. Quite frankly, I’m surprised it took me this long, especially since of my favourite fast food items is the Spicy Chicken Sandwich at Wendy’s. Let’s see how this one stacks up.

I used to eat A&W’s a lot. There was one on campus back in my university days. I pretty much stuck to either plain Mama burgers or chubby chicken strips. I never got sick of it, but I also don’t find myself craving A&W like I do with some other burger places. Who knows, maybe this sandwich will get me going out to their establishment more frequently again.

I ordered it without the tomato again. I know I kept it on for the Quesalupa, but I’m not ready for a full ring. That left me with just the lettuce and red pepper aioli. I also forwent the combo this time. I had a coupon that was the for the burger only. The lack of a drink might have been a bad idea though.

DSC_0857.jpg

DSC_0859.jpg
…That’s it? That sauce better be damn spicy…

They didn’t really put on a lot of sauce, did they? I know I said I prefer sauces being light, but this seems a bit too light. Not only that, but I was a bit skeptical of the sauce. It looked like just mayo with chunks of red pepper in it. Not impressive. My expectations were low.

The first bite breaks those expectations. I felt heat right away. It wasn’t scorching hot, but it was noticeable. Apparently the chicken patty was also spicy, a good move on A&W’s part. Relying on the sauce would have been a mistake.

Honestly, I couldn’t tell if the sauce added much to the heat, if at all, but it didn’t hinder the sandwich at least. Regardless, this was tasty and hit the right spice zone for me, albeit on the lower end of that zone. It wasn’t quite as good as the Wendy’s Spicy Chicken Sandwich, but I’d consider ordering this one again next time I go to A&W.

8/10

Leave a comment